Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Women's Studies Resource Guide: Style Guides

Women's studies is an interdisciplinary field of study that uses gender as a lens to critically examine society.

Style Guides

Publication Manuals

Print copies of these manuals are located at Columbia College's Stafford Library as well as at many other libraries and bookstores. 

Online Resources to Help Use Style Guides

Sites with Help on Various Style Guides and Other Aspects of Writing 

 

Columbia College Writing Center's Essay Help - Help on MLA & APA documentation, grammar & punctuation, and other aspects of the essay-writing process.

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Help on MLA, APA, & Chicago documentation, grammar & punctuation, and other aspects of the writing process.  

Research and Documentation Online - the electronic version of the 5th edition of Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.  This online site contains information on MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE documentation as well as on finding and evaluating sources. 

Columbia College Library's Citing Sources Resource Guide 

 

Sites with Help on the American Sociological Association Style Guide, 4th edition 

 

 Quick Style Guide as posted on the American Sociological Association's website.  This guide is based on the 3rd edition of the American Sociological Association Style Guide.

Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style) as posted on the Online Writing Lab (OWL) of Purdue University.

 

Sites with Help on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition 

 

APA Style Resources posted on the American Psychological Association's website including tutorials, FAQs, and other helpful information.

"APA Style" Page of Columbia College Library's "Citing Sources" resource guide.

APA Formatting and Style Guide Information as posted on the Online Writing Lab (OWL) of Purdue University. 

"APA Style" Section of Research and Documentation Online, the electronic version of the 5th edition of Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.          

APA Style Lite for College Papers - As stated on this website, it "is a concise guide to crafting research papers in the style of the American Psychological Association (APA). It is based on the current edition of the APA Publication Manual (corrected printing, 2009) while incorporating guidelines for "Material Other Than Journal Articles" found in the last edition."

 

Sites with Help on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition 

 

FAQs for the MLA Handbook - Frequently asked questions posted on the website of the Modern Language Association (MLA) about the MLA Handbook.

MLA Handbook's Website - If you own a copy of the 7th edition of the handbook, the inside back cover has an activation code that will allow you to create an account at this website and gain access to an alectronic copy of the handbook in a searchable format that provides many additional examples not in the print copy of the book as well as sample papers and other helpful resources. 

"MLA Style" Page of Columbia College Library's "Citing Sources" resource guide. 

MLA Formatting and Style Guide Information as posted on the Online Writing Lab (OWL) of Purdue University.

"MLA" Style" Section of Research and Documentation Online, the electronic version of the 5th edition of Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.

 

Sites with Help on The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition

 

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide - Resource posted on the website of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Style Q & A - A database of questions and answers posted on the website of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Proofreaders' Marks - This is Figure 2.6 of the manual as posted on the website of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Chapter 16 entitled "Indexes" from the manual itself - This chapter is from the ebrary Academic Complete database to which the library subscribes.

"Chicago/Turabian Style" page of Columbia College's "Citing Sources" resource guide.

Chicago Manual Formatting and Style Guide Information as posted on the Online Writing Lab (OWL) of Purdue University. 

"Chicago Style" Section of Research and Documentation Online, the electronic version of the 5th edition of Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.