Stafford Library: English Composition Resource Guide: Arthur Miller

Reference

Click on the title to go to the full text article.

Arthur Miller Research Starter
Considered one of the foremost dramatists in the United States, Miller penetrated the American consciousness and gained worldwide recognition for his probing dramas of social awareness.
Arthur Miller Topic Page
1915–2005, American dramatist, b. New York City, grad. Univ. of Michigan, 1938. One of America's most distinguished playwrights, he has been hailed as the finest realist of the 20th-century stage. Miller's plays are, above all, concerned with morality as they reflect the individual's response to the manifold pressures exerted by the forces of family and society.
Death of a Salesman in The Encyclopedia of American Studies
Death of a Salesman Very late one night, having that morning set out on a sales trip to Portland, Maine, Willy Loman returns to his Brooklyn home because he repeatedly drove his car off the side of the road. Now sixty-three years old, Willy has worked as a traveling salesman for the Wagner Company for more than thirty years. Of late, his sales have declined because his old customers are dying or retiring. The company takes away his salary to make him work on straight commission. His wife, Linda, comforts Willy when he returns and encourages him to ask Howard Wagner for a position in the New York office, where he will not have to travel and can once again earn a guaranteed salary.
Death of a Salesman in Masterplots
Provides a summary of the plot, critical evaluation, and a bibliography.

Resources about Arthur Miller from Cougar Search
Includes articles, books, e-books, and videos.
Articles on Miller's Death of a Salesman in Cougar Search
Includes articles from MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, and Project Muse.
Death of a Salesman from MLA Database
Peer reviewed articles.
Mind Map on Arthur Miller
Use Credo Reference's brainstorming tool to find related terms and expand your search.

Death of a Salesman
Abbreviated but superb 1966 television adaptation by Arthur Miller of his Pulitzer Prize - winning modern tragedy - starring the incomparable Lee J. Cobb and Mildred Dunnock, re-creating their original Broadway roles as the Lomans.