Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
This resource guide was designed to provide assistance with research related to composition and literature. To navigate this guide, click on the tabs above or the Table of Contents below. If you need help, please contact us.
Table of Contents
Includes suggested databases for articles on literature and search tips.
Includes suggested books and information on finding books.
Includes selected e-books on literature.
Includes selected reference databases and books.
Includes selected websites on literature.
Includes information on citing with MLA style.
The English program will lead you to further develop your critical-thinking skills and understanding of the human condition.
Writing Literary Analysis
A literary analysis is a writer's argument for how an aspect of a work of literature should be interpreted. Such an analysis focuses on a specific attribute of a work rather than on the work as a whole. For example, a literary analysis may analyze the theme of a short story or a novel or the symbolism within it. When writing a literary analysis, writers must back up their assertions with the work itself and with secondary sources. Writers can analyze nearly any type of literature including short stories, novels, and poems. Some even analyze films.
Composition (Language Arts)
Includes articles, books, e-books, and videos.
Need Help? Contact Us.
Phone: (573) 875-7381 or (800) 231-2391, ext. 7381
Text: (573) 535-5449
This guide was created by Lucia D'Agostino and updated by Vandy Evermon for the English major and minor under the Language and Communication Studies Department.