Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for articles on literature
These databases contain articles on a broad range of subject areas including critical work on authors and their works.
In the above databases, look for where you can limit your search to full text and peer-reviewed material. If book reviews come up in your search, skip them – book reviews are not acceptable resources for most papers.
In the above databases there are a couple of default settings that need to be changed so you don’t get entries in a result list that you cannot access. Look for and select the limit that will include only accessible content, deselect limits that include links to external content, and limit to articles only.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Humanities International Complete
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles for the humanities including literature, history, religion, philosophy, communication, cultures, and the visual and performing arts. Both full text articles and abstracts
History, sociology, business, economics, ecology, education, language & literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies and finance. The library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and VIII collections. Entirely full text.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
MLA International Bibliography
Accessed through the MLA International Bibliography database, this is a comprehensive directory to modern literature periodicals. It provides information on journals currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
When searching for articles about a literary work, for best results put the work's title in quotes, for example, "The Color Purple."
In some databases it can narrow your search results when you use the author's last name first when searching, for example: Walker, Alice.
If you want to use both title and author in a search, connect them with the word "and". Combining the author and title would look like: Walker, Alice and "The Color Purple".