Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Citation Managers

Citation Managers

Citation managers, many of which are free online resources, are citation databases and bibliography creators that allow users to import, store, organize, share citations and to format bibliographies into the style a user needs (APA, MLA, etc.). Many citation managers also allow users to attach files, annotate bibliographies, and share content with others. When used properly, citation managers can create a citation and then can insert footnotes and citations into a paper created in word-processing software, so when using a citation manager. Ask your instructor to verify the format of citation when using a citation manager.

Comparison Chart of Online Citation Managers

 

EndNote Basic

Mendeley

Zotero

Citethisforme.com

 

Cost

Free

Free

(additional costs for upgraded storage and costs for private groups) one private group of 3 members free

Free (costs for upgraded storage)

Free (fees for premium and plagiarism checks)

Add notes to citations

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Annotate PDFs

 

No

Yes

No, but will sync  annotated PDFs with 3rd party software

No

Full text PDF search

No

Yes

Yes

No

Create formatted citations, in-text citations, and footnotes in word processor

Yes (Microsoft Word only)

Yes

Yes

Yes (Microsoft Word only)

Group features

  • Share EndNote with account users
  • Create public and private groups
  • Groups synchronize collections between multiple computers
  • One private group of 3 members free
  • Create public and private groups
  • Automatic synchronization among computers
  • Ability to share bibliographies on Facebook
Create a bibliography as a file
  • HTML
  • Rich Text Format (RTF)
  • Plain text
  • Word (Windows 2000 and later)
  • Word for Mac 98 or later
  • HTML
  • Rich Text Format (RTF)
  • Copy plain text to clipboard
  • Download to Word
  • Export to Google Drive