Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
This resource guide was designed to provide you with assistance in locating good sources of information as you do research on countries and cultures.
To navigate this guide, click on the tabs above, or the Table of Contents below. If you need help, please contact us.
Table of Contents
Includes selected databases and search topics.
Includes selected reference books at Stafford Library.
Provides selected e-books about various countries.
Links to country websites and streaming videos.
Includes books and e-books about world culture.
Provides websites and e-books on demographics.
Provides selected e-books, atlases and map websites.
Provides websites with health and travel advice.
CIA World Fact Book
Political, geographic, economic, and sociological summaries organized by country.
(BBC) Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Library spot countries
Best library and reference sites together with insightful editorial in one user-friendly spot. Sites featured on LibrarySpot.com are hand-selected and reviewed by our editorial team for their exceptional quality, content and utility.
U. S. Department of State
“Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.”
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Need Help? Contact Us.
Phone: (573) 875-7381 or (800) 231-2391, ext. 7381
Text: (573) 535-5449
Lauren Newton from the University of North Florida, gave permission for use of some of the information used in this guide. The guide was created by Vandy Evermon. If you have any questions, contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org.