Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
Countries-U.S. Department of State
This section provides historical reference information on aspects of the United States’ relations with the countries of the world. The central component is a guide to matters of diplomatic recognition and the establishment and maintenance of diplomatic relations between the United States and states of the world, from 1776 to the present.
Country Profiles from the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Maintained by knowledgeable experts from the UK's Foreign and Commonwealth Office. For each country, this website gives headline facts and figures about the population, capital city, currency and so on. Then briefly outline the geography and recent history, current politics and economic trends, and the country's commercial and political relations with the UK.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
The Electronic Embassy provides information on each of the embassies in Washington D.C., with links to Web-based resources where available.
Global Gateway - World Culture and Resources
Library of Congress website with links to digital collections and websites.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Library Spot - Countries
The StartSpot Network, a division of StartSpot Mediaworks, was founded with the desire to improve people's ability to quickly and easily find the best topical information on the Web.Frustrated by unwieldy search engine results and bottomless portals, we felt there had to be a better way. What began as a highly acclaimed site, LibrarySpot.com, has evolved into a simple network of topical "Spots," the StartSpot Network.
The Nation Master Web site is an excellent source of national statistics for nearly every country in the world. It offers over 300 data sets on topics such as population, the economy, the environment, crime, media, and military expenditures. It also contains a profile of each country, with statistics, maps, and flags. Users can create their own graphs to compare countries, and the site is searchable.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Published by the U.S. Department of State, the fact sheets provide information on the political and economic relations between the U.S. and the country covered in the fact sheet. Links are provided to other government sources on the country.
Films on Demand Streaming Videos