Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Portals to U.S. Government Resources
Use the links below to search for government resources.
The federal government's portal for accessing government information and services via the Internet. Make use not only of the search-box feature, but also the resources found in the "Get Services," "Blog," "Explore Topics," "Find Government Agencies," "Popular Topics," and "Just for You" sections.
Small Business Section of the USA.gov Website
The United States government's "one-stop platform" to locate government services to help businesses.
"The federal government possesses a trove of big data—a commodity increasingly important to businesses, researchers and academics. So it is starting to open up that data to the public online at data.gov." (Quote is from "The People's Choice: Distrust" article in "The Wall Street Journal" of 7/19/13 that is included on the "About" page of the website as of 7/26/13.)
"FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information." (Quote is from the website itself.)
The purpose of FedWorld is "to serve as the online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government." It is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce. (Quote is from the website itself.)
Use this site to find federal government forms and applications as well as state tax forms.
Provides free public access to the full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Use this site to find, apply for, and track federal grants.
State and Local Governments
The sites below can help you find information posted on the websites of states, counties, and cities.
For more such sites, see the State and Local Governments box on the "Legal and Ethical Aspects of Healthcare - MGMT 353 Resource Guide."
State Agency Databases as Posted on the American Library Association's GODORT Page
"In every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information .... Since July 2007, librarians and other government information specialists have been working on identifying and annotating these databases in one place. We've chased across fifty state web sites so you don't have to!" (Quote is from the website itself.)
Legal Information Institute (LII): Collection of State Legal Materials
This collection "gathers, state by state, Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and regulations for the fifty states, plus D.C., and the U.S. territories and affiliated jurisdictions." (Quote is from the website itself.)
State and Local Government on the Net
"One-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments" (Quote is from the website itself.)
State Government on the GovSpot.com Website
"GovSpot.com makes it easy to find the best government Web sites and documents, facts and figures, news, political information and much more." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Securities and Exchange Commission
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is the regulatory agency for the securities (stocks and bonds) market.
Use the search box on its webpage to find appropriate resources or explore the links on the site to find relevant information.
The SEC maintains the EDGAR database of public company filings linked to below.
Executive Office of the U.S. President
Below are links to the websites of three entities of the Executive Office of the President that deal with financial and economic matters.
Council of Economic Advisers
This agency produces the monthly "Economic Indicators" publication, the annual "Economic Report of the President," and periodic fact sheets and reports.
Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR)
This office "is responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy and for overseeing trade negotiations with other countries." (Quote is from the 2013 U.S. Government Internet Directory.)
National Economic Council
This council advises the President on U.S. and global economic policy.
U.S. Government Publications
Trade Finance Guide: A Quick Reference for U.S. Exporters by
Publication Date: 2012
"Concise, two-page chapters offer the basics of numerous financing techniques, from open accounts, to forfaiting [sic], to government assisted foreign-buyer financing." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Move around the guide by using the links on the left of the screen.
Search the FDsys Federal Digital System of the U.S. Government Printing Office to locate pertinent publications of the federal government.
Also search the "Money Publications" section of Publications.USA.gov for resources on child support, credit, debt, insurance, investing & saving, loans, management of money, money scams & frauds, and taxes.
The "Housing Publications" section of Publications.USA.gov has resources on buying and renting a home, financing & sales, foreclosure, insurance, and more.
Below are two publications related to finance.
U.S. Department of Treasury
Use the search box on the U.S. Department of Treasury website to find appropriate resources or explore the links on the site to find relevant information.
Below are samples of what you can find on the website.
Data and Charts Center
"Offers visitors raw data, graphs, and charts on topics ranging from Treasury interest rates to the Recovery Act to the International Capital System." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Making Home Affordable.gov
Learn how you can get help avoiding foreclosure on your home.
Office of Financial Stability
This office is in charge of the Troubled Assets Relief Program (TARP) including help with:
Bank Investment Programs.
Credit Market Programs.
Investment in AIG.
Bureau of the Fiscal Service
Their "mission is to promote the financial integrity and operational efficiency of the U.S. government through exceptional accounting, financing, collections, payments, and shared services." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Community Development Financial Institutions Fund
"Through monetary awards and the allocation of tax credits, the CDFI Fund helps promote access to capital and local economic growth in urban and rural low-income communities across the nation." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN)
"FinCEN’s mission is to safeguard the financial system from illicit use and combat money laundering and promote national security through the collection, analysis, and dissemination of financial intelligence and strategic use of financial authorities." (Quote is from the website itself.)
U.S. Census Bureau
Click on the Business link near the top for various reports.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
The IRS "is the nation's tax collection agency and administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Tax Statistics Generated by the IRS
"Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system." (Quote is from the website itself.)
U.S. Department of Commerce
Use the search box on the U.S. Department of Commerce website to find appropriate resources or explore the links on the site to find relevant information.
Below are samples of what you can find on the website.
Financing-Your-Business Education Page
From the website of the Minority Business Development Agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Also see the links under the "Business Education" link near the top for blogs and for information on starting, managing, and expanding a business.
Financial Services Industry of the U.S.
U.S. Department of Commerce's overview of the opportunities in the financial services industry of the U.S.
Also provides links to industry services and publications.
Key Building Blocks of World Class Financial Centers
"This paper identifies the key structural factors that contribute to the creation of world-class financial centers. It does not purport to be an exhaustive review of all factors that support a major financial center, and as a result it does not examine financial markets infrastructure per se. Rather, its purpose is to highlight the essential broad institutional building blocks of a major global financial center." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Published by the Securities Industry Association and posted on the website of the International Trade Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Assessments of Financial Services Industries
(3) Pensions and Asset Management
(4) Non-Bank Finance Industry
(5) Venture Capital Industry
From the website of the International Trade Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Go to this website for national, international, and regional economic statistics.
The Census Bureau conducts surveys related to business and industry on a periodic basis as well as an Economic Census every five years.
Explore by hovering over "Browse by Topic," "Surveys/Programs," and "Information for ..." in the blue banner near the top.
Export.gov "is the U.S. Government’s export promotion and finance portal ... designed ... to deliver critical export information and services from across the U.S. Government to small and medium-sized U.S. companies to begin or expand their exporting business." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Export.gov is managed by the International Trade Administration and other U.S. Government Agencies.
Export.gov's International Finance page has information on it as well as links for financing, insurance, and grants.
Export.gov's FAQ section provides helpful links to pages focusing on categories of frequently asked questions.
U.S. Department of Labor
Use the search box on the U.S. Department of Labor website to find appropriate resources or explore the links on the site to find relevant information.
Below are samples of what you can find on the website.
Retirement Plans, Benefits, & Savings
Find information here about types of retirement plans and the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA).
"GovLoans.gov is your gateway to government loan information. It directs you to the loan information that best meets your needs." (Quote is from the website itself.)
While the loan programs are affiliated with several agencies, the U.S. Department of Labor hosts this website.
U.S. Small Business Administration
The website of the Small Business Administration (SBA) "provides comprehensive resources for small businesses, small business owners, and prospective business owners." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Use the search box on the website to find resources on finance or explore the links on the site to find relevant information.
Below are samples of what you can find on the SBA website.
Online Training - Financing Options for Small Businesses
"This self-paced training exercise is an introduction to financing options for your business.Topics include; determining your financial needs, loans, grants, venture capital, angel investors, crowd funding and other financial options available to small businesses." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Small Business Learning Center
Additional online training, videos, and chat sessions are available here.
Federal Government Websites for Financial Literacy & Investment Education
"MyMoney.gov is the U.S. government's website dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Drop down the "Get Assistance" menu for helpful links.
A website created by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission with information on how to invest wisely and written in such language as to be understandable to the average investor. You don't have to be a stockbroker to understand the information!
Education Center of the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
"Visit here for answers to some basic questions about the futures markets and how they work, where to go if you need help, and answers to other questions that often arise." (Quote is from the website itself.)
TreasuryDirect for Kids
Designed by the U.S. Treasury Department for children, this site explains saving & investing, treasury securities, bonds, and the history of the U.S. public debt.
Federal Reserve System (The Fed)
As the central banking system of the U. S., the Fed conducts monetary policy, supervises banks, and provides financial services.
Below are links to the Federal Reserve website, its 12 district banks, its national-in-scope websites, educational information about the Fed, and related sites containing data.
Federal Reserve System
On this website of the nation's central banking system, you can find banking, economic, and consumer information.
Federal Reserve System's Twelve Districts
You can find additional valuable Federal Reserve (Fed) information on the websites of each of the twelve Districts of the Fed.
The Federal Reserve System Online
In the right column are links to the Fed's national websites, such as those for consumer help and for financial services for bankers.
In Plain English: Making Sense of the Federal Reserve
This guide informs you about the purpose of the Federal Reserve System and how it functions to meet its responsibilities with the structure of a Board of Governors, 12 regional federal reserve banks, and the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC).
Federal Reserve Education
This is the educational section of the Federal Reserve's website. Find resources here, including videos, to learn about the Federal Reserve.
100 Years: Your Gateway to the History of the Federal Reserve System
Learn about the Fed's purpose as well as the events and people associated with its 100 years of history.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
This database contains "economic data time series from national, international, public, and private sources" and allows you to combine the "data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data." (Quotes are from the website itself.)
National Information Center
"The National Information Center (NIC) is a central repository of data about banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest, including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the United States. This web site provides access to NIC data, allowing the public to search for detailed information about banking organizations." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC)
This "is a formal interagency body empowered to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (FRB), the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)," other federal agencies, and the State Liaison Committee (SLC). (Quote is from the website itself.)
The Federal Reserve Archive
Learn about the currency used by the United States at the sites below.
American Currency Exhibit
Online exhibit of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco on currency throughout the history of the U.S.
U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing (BEP)
"As its primary function, the BEP prints billions of dollars - referred to as Federal Reserve Notes - each year for delivery to the Federal Reserve System." (Quote is from the website itself.)
United States Mint
Produces the country's circulating coinage, collectible coins and national medals.
Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
The FTC works to protect consumers and to maintain competition in the marketplace.
Use the search box on the website of the Federal Trade Commission to find appropriate resources or explore the links on the site to find relevant information.
Below are samples of what you can find on the website. The first link is designed for consumers. The other links are for business executives.
This provides consumers with information on:
Money & Credit.
Homes & Mortgages.
Health & Fitness.
Jobs & Making Money.
Privacy & Identity.
And more -- check out all the links on the page.
Credit and Finance
Learn here about enforcement of consumer protection laws regarding credit & loans, debt, debt collection, mortgages, and payments & billing.
Provides "information about your responsibilities under the Fair Credit Reporting Act and other laws when using, reporting, and disposing of information" in consumer or credit reports. (Quote is from the website itself.)
This site informs you of "compliance responsibilities for businesses that provide credit or loans to consumers." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Franchises, Business Opportunities, and Investments
Learn here about the mandate discolsures and buyer protections of the FTC's Franchise Rule and Business Opportunity Rule.
Also find here "esources to help people spot business opportunity and investment scams and avoid franchise taboos." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Information on how financial institutions must "explain their information-sharing practices to their customers and ... safeguard sensitive data." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Real Estate and Mortgages
Learn here if "your advertising, marketing materials, and day-to-day practices meet legal standards" of the FTC for real estate and mortgages.
Additional Federal Agencies and Commissions
Below are links to additional government websites and resources that may be of interest to students in finance classes
To search for other government information, use one of the portals to U.S. Government Resources.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
Insures deposits in banks and thrift institutions.
Examines and supervises "financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumer protection." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Provides statistics and other information on banking and individual banks, regional economic conditions, and consumer protection.
Export-Import Bank of the United States
Its mission "is to assist in financing the export of U.S. goods and services to international markets." (Quote is from the website itself.)
Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)
"OPIC mobilizes private capital and ... helps U.S. businesses gain footholds in emerging markets." (Quote is from the website itself.)
National Credit Union Administration
This is "the independent federal agency that regulates, charters and supervises federal credit unions." (Quote is from the website itself.)
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
"Polices the derivatives markets for various abuses and works to ensure the protection of customer funds." (Quote is from the website itself.)