Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ernest Hemingway Research Starter
Hemingway was one of the most influential writers in the twentieth century, both as a much-imitated stylist and as a larger-than-life celebrity.
Ernest Hemingway in Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Includes list of publications and bibliography of critical studies.
Ernest Hemingway in Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Includes biographical information, analysis of Hills Like White Elephants, and a bibliography.
Hillls Like White Elephants in Reference Guide to Short Fiction
Since its publication in 1927 "Hills Like White Elephants" has come to be regarded as the quintessential Ernest Hemingway story for its restraint and subtlety. In only a few pages Hemingway develops a tense conflict between a man and a woman who are deeply divided about a decision that will affect the rest of their lives.
Minimalist Short Fiction
Minimalism was seen not only in short fiction but also in longer works and other artistic mediums, including painting, architecture, music, and sculpture. However, because it coincided with the rise in the renewed interest in the short story, it is considered a major movement in the development of the short story in general and the American short story in particular. Hills Like White Elephants is a good example.
Websites about Hemingway
The Hemingway Society
The Ernest Hemingway Foundation was established in 1965 by Mary Hemingway, Ernest’s widow, “for the purposes of awakening, sustaining an interest in, promoting, fostering, stimulating, supporting, improving, and developing literature and all forms of literary composition and expression.”
Finca Vigia Foundation
Foundation dedicated to preserving Hemingway's legacy in Cuba.
Ernest Hemingway Collection at JFK Presidential Library
Collection which includes ninety percent of existing Hemingway manuscript materials and is the world's principal center for research on Hemingway's life and works.
Articles about Ernest Hemingway
Hills like White Elephants
Includes articles from MLA International Bibliography, Project Muse, and JSTOR.
Hills Like White Elephants
Full text, peer reviewed articles on Hills Like White Elephants.
Staking Every Thing on it: A Stylistic Analysis of Linguistic Pattersn in "Hills Like White Elephants"
Ernest Hemingway's "Hills Like White Elephants" is, if taken literally, a story in which little actually "happens": a couple has drinks at a train station in Spain and argues about something rather vague. A useful approach to such an enigmatic text is to examine the very language of which it is made
The Hemingway Review
v.20 (2000) to current issue
Averaging about 150 pages in length, each issue of the journal specializes in feature -length scholarly articles on the work and life of Ernest Hemingway, and also includes notes, book reviews, library information, and current bibliography. All critical approaches are welcome, including but not limited to historical, textual, biographical, source, and influence studies, as well as gender-based, multicultural, ecocritical, and other post-structuralist methods.
Ernest Hemingway An Overview of His Work
Hemingway's writing style was lean, objective, and compared with his fellows, quite un-literary. His writing output falls into three groups: non-fiction, short stories, and novels.
Ernest Hemingway : A Concise Biography
This overview of the biography and writing of Ernest Hemingway from the Famous Authors series follows the young Hemingway from his boyhood home in Illinois to his start as a reporter in Kansas, which quickly led him to jobs as a reporter and an ambulance driver in WWI. Known for his minimalist style and the depiction of the 'lost generation' in The Sun Also Rises, Hemingway's experiences in WWI, his time as an expatriate in intellectual Paris and in Spain, and his love of bull-fighting are depicted in the film and clearly connected to the themes in his novels and short stories.