English Composition Resource Guide

One of the leading world figures in modern drama, Ibsen moved beyond the melodramas of the nineteenth century to create a drama of psychological realism that helped to create modern realistic theater.

Biographical information, works, and bibliography including critical studies.

A Doll's House is a landmark in drama, but it is confined in its range of social setting to the middle class. For Henrik Ibsen, this class denoted a community limited not only in its means of livelihood but also in its outlook. It is preoccupied with work and money, leading to a reuction of values from a moral to a material plane.

Includes an overview of the story, critical evaluation, and a bibliography

Overview of the story and a bibliography.

Includes information on A Doll's House.

This is a list of resources about Ibsen in our online catalog.

MOBIUS books can be requested by Missouri residents.

Articles from the Academic Search Complete database.

These are results from a Cougar Search. If the PDF or HTML isn't available, click on "Full Text Finder". If there are full text results, click on the link.

Use Credo Reference's brainstorming tool to find related terms and expand your search.

Use Credo Reference's brainstorming tool to find related terms and expand your search.

Includes journal articles from Academic Search Complete.

Full text finder may lead to interlibrary loan form or full text in another database. Some articles will have the PDF.

Marriage and female-male relations are discussed.
Examines various approaches to the adaptation of Henrik Ibsen's play 'A Doll House.' Interpretation of the characters Nora and Torvald; Need for deeper, more rewarding analysis of the play; Introduction of audiences to the complexity and ambiguity of Ibsen's work; Differences in the translation of single words.

This paper explores representation of "Woman Question" in Henrik Ibsen's "A Doll's House" and George Bernard Shaw's "Candida." The paper argues that unlike many studies that have read Candida and Nora as two disparate characters, they can be considered as the same "New Woman" represented only from different perspectives.

"A Doll's House" is discussed in this essay on Ibsen. The "Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender" is in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

"A Doll's House" is discussed in the first paragraph of "The Modern Era" section of this essay from the "Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender" that is in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

This program, narrated by Ibsen biographer Michael Meyer, charts the development of Henrik Ibsen's style over four periods: his early years of failure; his epic dramas; his sociological plays, such as A Doll's House, Ghosts, and Rosmersholm; and his final plays, including Hedda Gabler, The Master Builder, and Little Eyolf, in which he dealt with the dark interior of the human soul.

This is a brief segment from the play.

This program, as much a tribute to the art of theater as to the immortal Ibsen, reveals a perennial fascination with Norway’s master playwright. Excerpts from A Doll’s House, Peer Gynt, and other productions captured on film in the United States, Canada, Britain, Norway, Denmark, Germany, Serbia, Iran, China, Argentina, and Venezuela are included, as well as interviews with renowned actor Earl Hyman and other notable interpreters of Ibsen’s plays.

National Library of Norway website. The National Library’s Ibsen pages provide the world’s most outstanding and largest website about Henrik Ibsen, both in terms of the amount of information and the number of users.

The purpose of the Ibsen Society of America, as set out in its Bylaws, is to foster through lectures, readings, performances, conferences, and publications an understanding of Ibsen's works as they are interpreted in texts and produced on stage and in film and other media.