English Composition Resource Guide

The story and a bibliography.

Article form the UXL Encyclopedia of World Mythology

Article in Reference Guide to World Literature

The term tragedy comes from the Greek word for “goat song.” The origins of Greek tragedy are unclear; however, scholars believe the genre branched out of choral verses sung in honor of the god Dionysus, also known by its Roman name, Bacchus. Performers were men wearing masks and goat skins who would sing and dance in the orchestra, an open circular space. In time, the performance grew to include heroic stories and a main actor. According to some sources, the playwrights Aeschylus and Sophocles added more actors to the plays.

One of the most important ancient Greek tragedians, Sophocles was an innovative and skilled master of character development and dramatic irony.

Article from Reference Guide to World Literature

Includes biographical and critical information on his plays. A selected bibliography is provided.

If one of the purposes of an ethic is to help order our lives in a way we would think is fulfilling and purposeful, then with it, we should be able to learn about the significance of life in the experience of death. Not all well-known ethical theories can deliver this. Though preferential utilitarianism and duty-based deontological ethics are attractive as theoretical ways to order our lives, they fall short as useful ethical approaches before the humbling effects of death.

Use Credo Reference's brainstorming tool to find related terms and expand your search.

In sociology and anthropology, a matriarchy is a social system in which women hold power. Women rule or lead as the head of a family, clan, tribe, or state. The head is called a matriarch. A matriarchy is an alternative to a patriarchy, in which men exercise authority.

Books and articles on Greek tragedy.

Books, e-books, videos, and articles in Cougar Search.

Articles about Oedipus.

Full text, peer reviewed articles.

Books and articles about Oedipus Tyrannos. The play can also be listed as Oedipus Rex or Oedipus the King.

Includes books, e-books, and articles.

Sophocles often won the leading prize at the Dionysia, the principal dramatic festival of Athens; but Oedipus the King was a runner-up, winner of the second prize. Posterity, however, considers the play second to none. The play tells the beginning of the Oedipus saga, setting the stage and creating the characters who will continue the story to its conclusion in Antigone.

No mortal endured more terrible a tragedy than Oedipus. He was the son of King Laius, King of Thebes, who, as a young man, having abused King Pelops’ son, caused his death. The Gods forbade him to have offspring, and decreed that if Laius gave birth to a son, that son would kill him. However, his wife Jocasta did give birth to a son, Oedipus.

Books, e-books, streaming videos about Sophocles at Stafford Library.

Includes books and e-books.

Books and E-books on Oedipus Rex at Stafford Library

Includes books and e-books.

Only books can be requested from MOBIUS by Missouri residents.

Browse the subheadings.

Includes e-books about Oedipus and Greek drama.