Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
This resource guide was designed to provide you with assistance in locating good sources of information on quantitative research. To navigate this guide, click on the tabs above, or the Table of Conents below. If you need help, please contact us.
Table of Contents
Includes databases that will provide articles on quantitative research, how to find the full text of citations, and request interlibrary loans.
Includes information on find books and requesting them from other libraries.
This page gives specific tips on using the PsychARTICLES database.
Understanding Peer Review
Includes a description on peer review and how to find peer reviewed articles.
Help with APA Style & Writing
Includes information on how to cite with APA style.
Qualitative and Quantitative Research Starter
Quantitative and qualitative research are the two dominant research paradigms or methodologies used in the human and social sciences. Both quantitative and qualitative research are modes of inquiry that use different methods to acquire answers to social phenomena. Purists believe that researchers who use either the quantitative or qualitative approach to research look at how the world is viewed and what is important to know differently from one another. Onwuegbuzie and Leech (2005) state that there are those in the research world who do not advocate the mixing of these two research methods. Researchers who consider themselves pragmatists advocate integrating methods within a single study (Creswell, 1994). Sieber (1973) states that researchers can actually utilize the strengths of both methodologies in any given study in order to understand social phenomena. There has been a recent growth in the mixing of quantitative and qualitative approaches, as researchers look to all available research techniques to address the research questions, rather than promote a preconceived bias toward one methodology or another (Sechrest & Sidani, 1995).
Full text, peer reviewed articles on quantitative research.
Ethics and quantitative research
Full text, peer reviewed articles on ethics and quantitative research.
Journal of Applied Quantitative Methods
Peer-reviewed coverage of the interdisciplinary application of quantitative methods.
Need Help? Contact Us.
Phone: (573) 875-7381 or (800) 231-2391, ext. 7381
Text: (573) 535-5449
This guide was created by Vandy Evermon. If you have any question, please contact me.