Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find a Specific Article From a Citation?: Home

News

Stafford Library Hours

Monday - Thursday: 8 am - 10 pm

Friday: 8 am - 5 pm

Saturday: Closed 

Sunday: 2 pm - 10 pm

NOTE: The building will be closed July 28-29th for staff development and carpet cleaning.

Dog Flowers

Join us on October 10th for our Indigenous Peoples’ Day event with author Danielle Geller. Read Dog Flowers today!

Stafford Library New Items 2021-2022

Resource guide with items purchased for the library by month.

Ukraine

This guide includes information on the country of Ukraine and about the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

IBISWorld Logo

Check out our new database, a great resource for industry and company information!

Silvey Fund Books

Books purchased by James M. Silvey Memorial Fund

October 10, 2022

Come hear author Danielle Geller talk @ CC New Hall 6:30 p.m.

How to Find a Specific Article from Its Citation

You have a citation for an article that you need to find. This page shows you how to find the article using the “E-Journals” tab in the “Find It” search box of the library’s website.

Citation Example:

Bitetti, D., & Scheffner Hammer, C. (2016). The Home Literacy Environment and the English Narrative Development of Spanish-English Bilingual Children. Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research, 59(5), 1159-1171.

Clues to Tell If the Citation is for a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper Article:

The publication has the word “journal,” “magazine,” or “newspaper” in it. 

The publication title does not include those words, but the citation includes a volume number, an issue number, and/or an issue date.

Explanation of the Above Citation:

The authors are Bitetti and Scheffner.

The publication date is 2016.

The article title is The Home Literacy Environment and the English Development of Spanish-English Bilingual Children.

The publication is the Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research.

The volume is 59. The issue is 5. The page numbers are 1159-1171.

Steps to Find the Article:

First find the journal, magazine, or newspaper title in the citation.

Go to https://library.ccis.edu.

Click on the “E-Journals” tab in the “Find It” section of the middle column.

Type the publication title in the search box.

The buttons under the search box should be set to:

Title Name.

Begins With.

Click on Search.

If the publication title is found:

Click on the “full text access” link under its title. 

Check to see if the date of the article is included in the range of dates for full-text access.

Click on the link for the appropriate database that includes the date of the publication for which you are searching.

Click on the link for “Search within this publication” that is near the top on the left side of the screen.

Type the article title or author in the second search box.

The article should be in the resulting list.  Click on the link to the PDF or HTML to view the full-text article.

If the publication title is not found or the citation’s publication date is not included in the range of dates for full-text access, then enter the citation into the Request It! (Interlibrary Loan) form to see if library staff can find the article for you at another library.

If you have any questions or need help, please contact us.