Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

Major Literary Figures - ENG 350 Resource Guide: Find Articles

Study of the works of one to three major writers.

Printable Help Guides

Journal & Newspaper Locator

Search for a journal, newspaper, or magazine title to see if the publication is available at the library in print and/or through one of our online databases. You can use this locator if you have a citation and want to find the article in full text.

Request an Article

Use this form to request the full text of a particular article. This service is only available to current Columbia College students, faculty and staff. 

MLA Database with articles on literature

Selected Journals

These journals are included in Academic Search Complete.

Databases that include articles on literature

These databases contain articles on a broad range of subject areas including critical work on authors and their works.

In the above databases, look for where you can limit your search to full text and peer-reviewed material. If book reviews come up in your search, skip them – book reviews are not acceptable resources for most papers.

In the above databases there are a couple of default settings that need to be changed so you don’t get entries in a result list that you cannot access. Look for and select the limit that will include only accessible content, deselect limits that include links to external content, and limit to articles only.