Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Company Ratios Resource Guide: Find Ratios in Databases

Finding Ratios for Multiple Companies in an Industry via Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Database

Click on the database link below to connect to it. 

In each industry survey, there is a section with comparative company analysis.  Ratios are included in this section for several companies.

If you need help accessing an industry survey, see the Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage subpage of the Company and Industry Information Resource Guide.

Finding Ratios for Multiple Companies in an Industry via LexisNexis Academic Business Search Database

Using the instructions below for this database will give you ratios for a group of companies in an industry.

Instructions for When you Know the Ticker or Name of a Company in an Industry, but Not the Industry SIC Code

  1. Click on the database link above.
  2. Type the company name or ticker symbol in the appropriate box.
  3. If more than one entry appears, click on the appropriate link.
  4. The primary SIC code is listed in the Industry Classification box.
  5. To learn of additional SIC codes for the company, click on the link in that box for "All Classifications."
  6. Click on the Industry tab near the top of the screen.
  7. Enter a SIC code in the appropriate box and press the "enter" key or click on "Find."
  8. The Ratio Components box includes ratios for the company you looked up and its competitors.

Instructions for When you Know the SIC Code for an Industry

  1. Click on the database link above.
  2. Click on the Industry tab near the top of the screen.
  3. Enter the SIC code in the appropriate box and press the "enter" key or click on "Find."
  4. The Ratio Components box includes ratios for some companies in the industry.

 

Ratios for One Specific Company

Using the instructions below for these databases will give you ratios for a particular company.

To use LexisNexis - Dossier Search, click on the above database link.

  • Type the company name or ticker symbol in the appropriate box and press the "enter" key or click on "Find."
  • If more than one entry is listed, click on the appropriate one.
  • Click on the "Overview " link under the Financials heading in the left column.  Scroll down to the Ratio Analysis section that contains valuation, operation, and earning ratios.
  • Click on the "Other Reports" link under the Financials heading in the left column.  Ratios are contained in the (1) Worldscope-International Company Profiles, (2) Morningstar U.S. Institutional Database, and (3) Reuters Knowledge Direct.

To use LexisNexis - Company Profiles Search, click on the above database link.

  • Type the company name in the search box.
  • Click on "Advanced Options" under the search box.
  • Click on the box to the left of "Hoover's Company and Industry Reports."  (See the note below for other reports to try.)
  • Click on "Apply."
  • When the screen appears on which you entered the company name, click on "Search."
  • Click on appropriate link(s) for the In-depth Hoover's Company Records.
  • Scroll down the screen to see if there are any ratios included.
  • Note:  International Company Reports, Morningstar Institutional Databases, U.S. Company Reports, U.S. Private Company Reports, U.S. Public Company Reports, and Worldscope-International Company Profiles contain ratios.
  • Tip:  When you get a long list of reports, try (1) Typing "ratio" in the "Search within results" box and click on "go" and/or (2) Limiting by company using the "company" limiter" in the left menu.

To use Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage, click on the above database link.

  • Type the company name or ticker in the search box at the top of the screen. 
  • If there is more than one result listed, click on the appropriate one. 
  • The company's tearsheet is displayed with links in the left column to other information on the company.
  • Look at the data in the far right column of the "Financial Information" box of the tearsheet.
  • Look at the data in the "Key Stats" and "Ratios" sections under the "Financials/Valuation" heading in the left column. 
  • Look at the data in the reports you access by clicking on the "Investment Research" and "Equity Research" sections under the "Research" heading in the left column.

Ratios for One Specific Company in the Value Line Research Center Database

See the instructions in the "Finding Company Information in Value Line Research Center" box on the Company and Industry Research Guide.

The reports accessed by clicking on the PDF and HTML icons contain ratios and other statistics.

Value Line determines the P/E ratio differently than other resources do.  See the link below for details.

Comparing One Company's Ratios to Industry Ratios

The instructions for the database below direct you to reports that list ratios for a particular company along with the comparable industry ratios. 

Click on this database link.

Type the company name or ticker in the first search box.  

Drop down the "Select a Field ..." menu to the right of the first search box.

As appropriate, choose "CO Company Entity" or "TK Ticker Symbol."  

Type "Alpha Street Research Reports" in the second box.

Drop down the "Select a Field ..." menu to the right of the second search box.

Choose "SO Publication Name."

Click "Search."

If the "Alpha Street Research Reports" publication has created a financial report for your company since March 1, 2013, at least one link will appear.

Among the data in the financial reports are company and industry ratios.