Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Materials?
Reference Materials such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful:
- to look up quick facts and definitions.
- to provide a quick overview of a topic.
- to develop vocabulary or keywords for searching.
- to find suggestions of additional sources.
Selected Electronic Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Below are four encyclopedias and a handbook. Additional electronic reference books can be found by searching the databases provided on this page.
Essays on Psychology from the Electronic Reference Databases
Below are some entries on psychology from the online reference databases listed on this page. Explore these databases to see what else you can find.
Selected Reference Books Physically Located in Columbia College's Library
Below are four reference books which would be helpful for finding background information. For more dictionaries and encyclopedias, browse the 150s in the reference collection of the library.
Selected Reference Databases
You will find these databases useful for finding facts, definitions, and topic overviews:
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. A multitude of topic areas are covered, including: business, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, philosophy, religion, social science, and technology
Salem Health is a category in the Salem Press database that provides a variety of health e-books.
Selected Electronic Psychology Dictionaries
Below are 7 dictionaries. Additional dictionaries can be found by searching the databases provided on this page.
Selected Electronic Reference Materials on Psychologists and Their Ideas
Below are two online books which provide information about psychologists and their ideas and publications. Additional such information can be found by searching the databases provided on this page.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: Credo Reference
Publication Date: 2008 (ebook); 2002 (print)
This dictionary provides biographical and bibliographical information on over 500 psychologists from all over the world from 1850 to the present day. All branches of psychology and its related disciplines are featured.