Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Materials?
Reference Materials such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful:
- to look up quick facts and definitions.
- to provide a quick overview of a topic.
- to develop vocabulary or keywords for searching.
- to find suggestions of additional sources.
Selected Electronic Sociology Dictionaries
Below are six dictionaries of sociology that include not only entries for concepts but also for biographical information on individual sociologists. Other dictionaries on topics related to sociology can be found by searching the databases provided on this page.
Selected Electronic Anthropology Reference Books
Below are several anthropology dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additional electronic books can be found by searching the databases provided on this page.
Selected Reference Databases
You will find these databases useful for finding facts, definitions, and topic overviews.
Selected Electronic Sociology Encyclopedias
Below are four encyclopedias. Additional electronic reference books can be found by searching the databases provided on this page.
Sociology Basics by
Call Number: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)...
Publication Date: 2000
To access, click on the title link above. When the catalog record appears, click on the blue link, "A Columbia College electronic book: click to access."
Essays on Sociology from the Electronic Reference Databases
Below are a couple of entries on sociology from the reference databases listed on this page. Explore these databases to see what else you can find on sociology and related subjects.
Credo Topic Page on Sociology
From the Credo Reference database, this page contains an encyclopedia article on sociology and links to other reference book entries on the topic. Additionally, it has links to other sociology books and videos as well as to other Credo Topic Pages for subjects related to sociology. Definitions of, and images associated with, sociology are also here.
Sociology Among the Social Sciences
This article is from the "Encyclopedia of Sociology" in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.