Stafford Library: Women's Studies Resource Guide: E-Books

Biographies

Below are several books that provide biographies of women.

Additional such books can be found in the databases provided on this page.

The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
Biographical information about women: historical, current, and worldwide.
The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
Clear and concise biographies, on figures such as Marie Curie, Yingchao Deng, Diana, Princess of Wales, Nell Gwyn, Pope Joan, Sappho, Mary Shelley, and Mai Zetterling.

Missouri Women

To learn how women "are faring within Missouri as a whole as well as counties within the state," take a look at the report linked below. (Quote is from the report itself.)

Status of Women in Missouri Report
Key findings of the Missouri Women’s Report:

■women earn less and are more likely to live in poverty than men,
■women face more obstacles than men when trying to get the health care we need,
■women make up 51% of the state's population bu only 25.5% of the legislature and executive branch
■41% of all counties in Missouri lack accredited child care facilities

Sociology

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
Call Number: Credo Reference

Below are several sociology books related to women's studies.

Additional such books can be found in the databases provided on this page.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by Stein, Marc
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 9780684312613
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference
ISBN: 0028659600
Publication Date: 2007

Health and Science

Below are several women's studies books related to science and health.

Additional such books can be found in the databases provided on this page.

Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Sana Loue and Martha Sajatovic
Call Number: Credo Reference
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by Karen J. Carlson, Stephanie A. Eisenstat, and Terra Ziporyn
Call Number: Credo Reference

History

Below are several books on women's history.

Additional such books can be found in the databases provided on this page.

The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
Gathers together articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past.
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women
A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.