Religious Studies Resource Guide

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.

This site provides "quality, social scientific religion research information that is helpful for religious leaders and the general public." Features many articles, reports, and statistics. Research areas include women and religion, church attendance, religion and the Web, multiracial congregations, Pentecostalism, and homosexuality and religion.

Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life conducts independent polling, research, media analysis, and information-sharing in four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs.

This site is a companion to an ongoing Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) "program devoted entirely to the news of religion and spirituality, and major ethical issues" from around the nation and the world. The site includes audio clips from the programs, interviews, features articles, news briefs, and a section on religious beliefs and practices.

A directory of websites concerning religion and spirituality. Topics include faiths and practices, angels, cults, demons, holidays, humor, and museums.

This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free internet resources of use to researchers involved in the academic study of religion.

Early Christian Writings is the most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.