Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: OER Commons
Discuss the historical view of religion from a sociological perspective. Understand how the major sociological paradigms view religion.
Devining America: Religion in American History
Divining America: Religion in American History is designed to help teachers of American history bring their students to a greater understanding of the role religion has played in the development of the United States.
BC Open Textbook Project
The B.C. Open Textbook Project provides textbooks including Introduction to Logic and Critical Thinking, The Originals: Classic Readings in Western Philosophy, and Modern Philosophy.
Introduction to Logic & Critical Thinking-Open Textbook Library
Written by Lansing Community College Philosophy professor Matthew VanCleave, this is an introductory textbook in logic and critical thinking. The goal of the textbook is to provide the reader with a set of tools and skills that will enable them to identify and evaluate arguments. The book is intended for an introductory course that covers both formal and informal logic. As such, it is not a formal logic textbook, but is closer to what one would find marketed as a “critical thinking textbook.”
A Collection of free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. Users will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
Stafford Library Resources
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. A multitude of topic areas are covered, including: business, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, philosophy, religion, social science, and technology
Salem History is a category in the Salem Press database that provides a variety of history e-books.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full-text journals, informative abstracts, books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references for core coverage journals.