English Composition Resource Guide

The author of the early feminist novel The Awakening, Chopin created works that showcased the Louisiana bayou country and often featured women struggling against society’s restrictions. Her reputation faded quickly after she died but reached new heights after her work was rediscovered during the 1960’s.

Includes list of publications and critical studies.

Biographical and critical information.

Biography, critical information, and a bibliography.

Includes biographical information,major works, and critical reception.

We encourage and support scholarship and activities that illuminate Chopin’s contribution to the American literary tradition, and we seek to preserve her literary significance for future generations.

Discusses "The Awakening" and southern culture, women's issues, and related figures.

Articles, books, e-books, and streaming videos.

Articles, books, e-books, and streaming videos about Kate Chopin.

The article presents analyses of the short story "The Story of an Hour," by Kate Chopin. The analyses of the short story were based on different perspectives of a critic such as feminism, archetype, psychoanalysis and structuralism. The topics of several passages from the short story that were explained include grief, physical exhaustion and class power structure.

Includes some full text articles and some linked to other databases or request through interlibrary loan.

This program consists of five versions of the same short story, "The Story of an Hour" by Kate Chopin, who scandalized American readers in the late 19th century by questioning the social and marital mores of her time. The story examines the behavior and feelings of a woman on the day she is informed of her husband's death. The program includes a reading of the story by Zoe Wanamaker, plus dramatizations by playwrights Kathleen Potter, David Stafford, and Michelene Wandor.

Includes books and e-books.

Missouri residents can request books from MOBIUS.