Columbia College Archives

Background:

Columbia College Archives digitizes, and makes available, materials for educational, research, and/or preservation purposes.

Columbia College Archives strives to only make materials publicly available online that Columbia College Archives owns the intellectual property rights to, materials that meet the Fair Use criteria, or materials that fall under Section 108 of Copyright Law (found on pages 20-23). However, because of the nature of archival collections, the owner of copyright is sometimes unidentifiable.

Submitting a Takedown Request:

If you believe Columbia College Archives does not own the rights to any material made publicly available online, you may request an item or item(s) be removed. To do so, please send an email to archives@ccis.edu with the following information:

1. Name and contact information (email address, telephone number, and/or physical address)
2. Identification of the material you believe to be infringing on copyright
3. A detailed justification for the request
4. Proof that you are the copyright owner, the subject, or are authorized to act on behalf of the copyright owner or subject
5. Your physical or electronic signature

Review Process:

Every request is reviewed on a case-by-case basis by college administrators. While the request is under review, Columbia College Archives will remove the material(s) in question from public view. Depending on the consensus of the review, the materials may be removed permanently or reinstated to the website.

The review process can take up to 14 business days, and once a decision is made, the requestor will receive a written decision, including an explanation regarding their request.

Date policy was enacted: October 02, 2024

Last updated: October 2, 2024