Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find videos, including online Streaming Videos
Search for DVDs or streaming videos. The streaming video databases are listed below. The search box will provide videos and DVDs for the initial search. After that you will need to modify your search. Click on modify search, location Columbia College, and select format. You can choose DVD or online video and then select submit. You can also go back to this Find Videos box to search each time if you prefer.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
A collection of videos that demonstrate physical examinations skills. Each section is devoted to a specific body system and provides step-by-step demonstrations of appropriate examination techniques.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers. The Master Academic Collection brings together videos from many areas of study, including health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels.
Nursing Education in Video
Over 300 streaming videos designed for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other health care workers.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to feature films. These films may only be viewed through the Swank Digital Campus platform. Films may be shown in class or assigned to enrolled students to view outside of class. The films do not have public performance rights.
Selected Streaming Videos
Click on the title and then the Columbia College link to play the video.
Evolution of Art
This program tracks the cultural evolution of art-from the ancient Greeks to the modern world, where art is big business
This program documents an expanded presentation that enables viewers to study and appreciate the museum's vast inventory. The result is a highly effective visual aid for instruction in archaeology, Egyptian history, art history, and other disciplines.
Chinese Art: Treasures of the National Palace Museum
This program spotlights 33 works of Chinese art seldom ever seen outside of the National Palace Museum.
Ye Gods: Religion and Art
This program considers the debt Western civilization owes to paganism, Christianity, and Islam, showing how each religion has influenced the other and how the art of all three continues to exert an effect on the world. Highlighting the lifelike sculptures of ancient Greece that celebrate what it is to be human; the primitive daubs in Roman catacombs, shimmering Byzantine mosaics, and Renaissance crucifixion scenes; and the dazzling arabesques of Egyptian, Turkish, and Spanish mosques, Matthew Collings points out the common humanity underlying three significantly different worldviews.
Save our Souls: Industrialization and Art
Industrialization in the 19th century, and the widespread human exploitation and personal alienation that characterized it, produced a crisis of faith and shook people's confidence in the very concept of civilization. In this program, Matthew Collings follows in the footsteps of John Ruskin, a social critic who interpreted the ills of his era and believed that art could salve, and perhaps even save, the soul. J. M. W. Turner, William Morris, and the Pre-Raphaelites are spotlighted, along with locales particularly significant to Ruskin-the Alps, Venice, his beloved Lake District, and the blasted landscape of over-industrialized northern Britain.
In the Shadow of Hitler: German Art-Post-World War I to the Present
This program focuses on Berlin, where Hannah Hoch, George Grosz, and John Heartfield politicized the anarchist Dada movement, uniting it with the extreme Left. Nearby, the newly formed Bauhaus School, led by founder Walter Gropius and other influential architects and artists, encouraged students to reject history and embrace new techniques, materials, and styles.
Latin American Women Artists: 1915-1995
Featuring the work of legendary painters Frida Kahlo and Maria Izquierdo-as well as living artists Fanny Sanin, Soledad Salame, Elba Damast, and many others-the program reevaluates notions of mainstream and margin in the contemporary art world.
Call Number: Credo Reference
Publication Date: 2013
The Masterworks Collection is a rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting.